The High Energy Physics group of the Institute was organized on the base of the High Energy Physics Lab. of the Physical Faculty. The HEP Lab. was established in 1990 in order to perform theoretical investigations in elementary particle physics and also to design semiconductor vertex detectors for experimental studies at UNK (Protvino, Russia). During 1990-92 years engineers and technicians of the Laboratory achieved some successes in fabricating and testing of such detectors. But after collapse of the Soviet Union and appeared financial problems these works were stopped. Starting from 1992 remaining staff members are involved only into theoretical investigations.

In 2005 the Laboratory became a part of the Theoretical Physics Division of newly founded Institute for Physical Problems, but from 2008 continues its activity as independent HEP group of the Division. From 1990 till 2005 the Laboratory was led by Prof. F.S.Sadykhov. From 2008 head of the HEP group is Prof. S.A.Gadzhiev, also director of the Institute. Prof. F.S.Sadykhov, Dr. S.S.Agaev, Dr.A.I.Ahmadov and junior research scientist G.A.Safarova were among first members of the Laboratory and still continue their work in the group. Drs. Sh.A.Mamedov, V.H,Badalov and Dr.R.G.Jafarov have joined us in 1999 and 2002, respectively.

The research interests of our scientists are concentrated mainly on strong interactions of elementary particles. Investigation within the Quantum Chromodynamics of various exclusive and inclusive processes, such as the Drell-Yan process, production of single mesons, calculation of the electromagnetic and transition form factors of light mesons, etc. were carried out. Theoretical computations in the framework of the Yang-Mills theory, holographic QCD have been performed, as well. Finally, group-theoretical investigations of various mathematical physics’ equations have been fulfilled.

Results of our investigations were published in well-known journals, such as Phys. Rev.D, Eur.Phys. J C, Phys. Lett. B, etc. and reported in conferences, seminars, workshops held in USA, France, Germany, Italy, Turkey and other countries.

Members of the group numerously visited the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics and participated in schools, conferences. They obtained DAAD grants allowed them to collaborate with their colleagues from Bochum, Regensburg, Wuppertal, Bonn and Kaiserslautern Universities of Germany and won TUBITAK grants to visit Ankara and Erciyes Universities of Turkey. Using other grants (NATO Fellowship grant, Royal Society grant) our physicists have performed joint projects with scientists from France (Nuclear Physics Institute, Orsey), UK (Imperial College), ITEP (Protvino, Russia).

Members of the group are open for collaboration with colleagues from other Institutes and Universities.

Bookmark and Share
© Bakı Dövlət Universiteti